Producer's Guild

PGA Calls for Industry to Transition to Clean Energy


Nominations Announced for Sports, Children’s and Short-Form Television Programs

Nominations Announced for Sports, Children’s and Short-Form Television Programs for 33rd Annual Producers Guild Awards


LOS ANGELES (January 18, 2022) – The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today nominations in its television specialty categories for the 33rd Annual Producers Guild Awards. Winners will be announced in Los Angeles and New York at the Guild’s Nominee’s Events the week of March 15th. Exact event dates and locations will be announced soon.


The 2022 Producers Guild Awards nominees in the Sports, Children’s and Short Form categories are listed below in alphabetical order by category. The PGA does not vet the individual producers of Sports, Children’s and Short Form Television Programs.


The Award for Outstanding Sports Program

  • 100 Foot Wave (S1)
  • Formula 1: Drive to Survive (S3)
  • Naomi Osaka (S1)
  • Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (S27)
  • Tiger (Special)


The Award for Outstanding Children's Program

  • Animaniacs (S2)
  • Harry Potter: Hogwarts Tournament of Houses (S1)
  • Muppets Haunted Mansion (Special)
  • See Us Coming Together: A Sesame Street Special
  • Waffles + Mochi (S1)


The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program

  • Carpool Karaoke: The Series (S4)
  • Full Frontal With Samantha Bee Presents: Pandemic Video Diaries: Vaxxed And Waxxed (Special)
  • Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse - The Daily Show (S1)
  • Saturday Night Live Presents: Stories From The Show (S2)
  • Stephen Colbert Presents Tooning Out the News (S2)


The remaining nominations for Theatrical Motion Pictures, Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, Limited or Anthology Series Television, and Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures will be announced January 27, 2022. Winners of these categories will be announced at the Producers Guild Awards ceremony on March 19th, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza.


At the Producers Guild Awards ceremony in March, the Producers Guild will also present special honors to powerhouse producers and leaders who have left their undeniable marks on the industry. Honorees this year include George Lucas and Kathleen Kennedy (Milestone Award), with recipients of the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures, Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television and the Visionary Award to be announced soon.


The 2022 Producers Guild Awards Event Chairs are Chris Thomes, Vice President, Creative Services for Disney Television Studios and Melvin Mar, Executive Producer, The Detective Agency. The 2022 Producers Guild of America Awards are produced by Anchor Street Collective for the Producers Guild of America. Branden Chapman is Executive Producer, Carleen Cappelletti is Co-Executive producer, Matt Ullian and Jane Sarkin of Boldface Partners are talent executives, and Jim Piccirillo is Director. The PGA Awards team also includes Diane Salerno (Six Degrees Global) managing sponsorship, marketing consultant Julie Giles (greenHAT digital) for social, and the PGA’s PR agency of record, Sunshine Sachs for PR.


Sponsors of the 2022 Producers Guild Awards include: Cadillac, Official Automotive Partner; Delta Air Lines, Official Airline Partner; GreenSlate; and Glenfiddich Scotch.

Any questions regarding the 2022 PGA Awards can be submitted to



About the Producers Guild of America (PGA)

The Producers Guild of America is a nonprofit trade group that represents and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The Producers Guild has more than 8,000 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members with employment opportunities, seeking to expand health benefits, promoting fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other education and advocacy efforts such as encouraging sustainable production practices. For more information and the latest updates, please visit the Producers Guild of America website and follow on social media.

Instagram: @producersguild
LinkedIn: Twitter: @producersguild
Hashtag: #PGAAwards


Matthew Lawrence, Pipere Boggio, Alexandra Anderson & Hayley Wierwille
Sunshine Sachs