Producers Guild

PGA Calls for Industry to Transition to Clean Energy


2024 Norman Lear Achievement Award – Gail Berman

Gail Berman To Receive the Norman Lear Award at the 2024 Producers Guild Awards


LOS ANGELES, CA — The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today that producer Gail Berman will be honored with this year’s Norman Lear Achievement Award. Berman will receive the award at the 35th Annual Producers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 25.

The Norman Lear Award recognizes a producer or producing team for their extraordinary body of work in television. Past honorees include Mindy Kaling, Greg Berlanti, Marta Kauffman, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Ryan Murphy, Shonda Rhimes, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abram, Lorne Michaels, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Aaron Spelling, David E. Kelley, and the late Norman Lear himself. The Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television is sponsored by Delta Air Lines.

“Gail’s impact on the television industry is nothing short of groundbreaking. Whether it's the contemporary successes of shows like Wednesday or her extensive role as a television executive overseeing critical and commercial hits such as American Idol, 24, House, Family Guy, and Arrested Development, her commitment as a producer speaks volumes and her impact has left an indelible mark on the medium,” noted Producers Guild of America Presidents Stephanie Allain and Donald De Line. “Norman Lear was a cultural icon whose producing work helped to transform television and shaped American society. We are honored to continue celebrating his legacy with this annual achievement.”

“I had the immense privilege of knowing Norman personally, and I know his legacy will continue to inspire artists and activists for generations,” said honoree Gail Berman. “My sincere thanks go to the Producers Guild for this recognition. It is a tremendous honor to be associated with its past recipients and the iconic namesake who so many of us consider a hero.”

As one of the most prolific and respected producers in entertainment, Berman has produced over 300 episodes of television. Her expansive portfolio includes award-winning properties and titles that have impacted culture and nurtured new voices including the cultural phenomena, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Tidying Up with Marie Kondo, and Netflix’s second most popular show of all time, Wednesday.

Currently, in her role as CEO of The Jackal Group, a production company creating scripted and unscripted television, feature films, and commercial theater, Berman is producing the Jon Hamm-led animated series GRIMSBURG, which has been greenlit for a second season on FOX as well as the adaptation of Elin Hilderbrand’s best-selling novel, THE PERFECT COUPLE starring Nicole Kidman, Liev Schreiber, Dakota Fanning, and Eve Hewson for Netflix.

Berman has proven her tenacity and diligence with her accomplished career, spanning 38 years and counting, continually innovating and adapting through the constantly changing landscape of television and entertainment.

Aside from her role as a producer, Berman has built companies and led large-scale organizations, putting her at the unique nexus of content creation, distribution, finance, and digital migration. She is one of the few media executives to hold the top posts at both a major film studio and a broadcast television network. She served as President of the Producers Guild of America from 2018 – 2022.

The 2024 Producers Guild Awards Event Chairs are Mike Farah, Chief Executive Officer at Funny Or Die and Joe Farrell, Chief Creative Officer at Funny Or Die. The 2024 Producers Guild of America Awards are produced by Anchor Street Collective and written by Jody Lambert, Lauren Cortizo and Matt Oberg for the Producers Guild of America. Branden Chapman is Executive Producer, Carleen Cappelletti is Co-Executive producer, Sunshine Sachs Morgan & Lylis is PR agency of record and Diane Salerno manages sponsorships.

Sponsors of the 2024 Producers Guild Awards include Cadillac, the Official Vehicle, Delta Air Lines, the Official Airline, Glenfiddich Scotch Whisky, and GreenSlate.