Documentary Motion Picture Nominees Announced for 32nd Annual PGA Awards


LOS ANGELES (February 2, 2021) - Today the Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced the 2021 Documentary Motion Picture nominees that will advance to the final round of voting for the 32nd Annual Producers Guild Awards.

The films nominated for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet
  • Dick Johnson Is Dead
  • My Octopus Teacher
  • Softie
  • A Thousand Cuts
  • Time
  • The Truffle Hunters

Note: These films are in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility.

The Producers Guild Awards honor excellence in motion picture and television productions, as well as the most notable names in the industry shaping the producing profession. Last year, producers Todd Douglas Miller and Thomas Petersen were honored with the award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Picture for Apollo 11, their compelling look at the first moon landing. Previous winning documentaries in this category include O.J.: Made in America, Amy, and Searching for Sugar Man.

Nominees for Sports, Children’s and Short Form Television Programs will be announced on Friday, February 26. The nominees for Theatrical Motion Pictures, Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, and Televised/Streamed Motion Pictures will be announced on Monday, March 8.

Winners will be honored during the virtual 32nd Annual Producers Guild of America Awards Show on Wednesday, March 24, 2021. Each year the PGA Awards are attended by Hollywood elite and have honored the industry’s biggest players including Robert de Niro, Jane Fonda, Tom Hanks, Nicole Kidman, Jordan Peele, Brad Pitt, Shonda Rhimes and many more. Additional information about this year’s highly anticipated awards show and its ancillary pre-events will be announced soon.

The 2021 Producers Guild Awards Event Chairs are Chris Thomes, Vice President, Creative Services for Disney Television Studios and Julius Tennon, President and Co-Founder of Juvee Productions. The 2021 Producers Guild of America Awards are produced by Anchor Street Collective for the Producers Guild of America. Branden Chapman is executive producer, Carleen Cappelletti is supervising producer, Emily Poenisch is talent executive, and Jim Piccirillo is director.

Any questions regarding the 2021 PGA Awards can be submitted to

# # #

About the Producers Guild of America (PGA)

The Producers Guild of America is a nonprofit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The Producers Guild has more than 8,000 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members with employment opportunities, seeking to expand health benefits, promoting fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other educational efforts and advocacy efforts such as encouraging sustainable production practices. The PGA also actively strives to create a more equitable industry through initiatives such as One Guild, which was established to address the specific needs of under-represented and under-served groups in order to increase and foster membership, guild leadership, employment and to encourage authentic depictions. For more information and the latest updates, please visit the Producers Guild of America website and follow on social media.


Instagram: @producersguild


Twitter: @producersguild


Hashtag: #PGAAwards


MEDIA CONTACTS:                                                                                        

Matthew Lawrence, Pipere Boggio & Alexandra Anderson                              

Sunshine Sachs